Looking to do some domestic travelling?  It’s important to know what borders are open to which state.
Updated 20th AUG



  • As of Aug 8, QLD’s borders are closed to ALL residents from VIC, NSW and the ACT until further notice.
  • All of Victoria, New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory are now considered COVID-19 hotspots.
  • Passengers will be refused entry to QLD and sent back if they attempt to arrive in the state without meeting the requested criteria.
  • If you make any false claims on the declaration pass, you’ll have to pay a $4,004 fine or a court-imposed penalty of $13,345.
  • Any Queenslanders returning from Victoria, New South Wales or the ACT will be forced to quarantine for 14-days at their own expense.
  • Find out more: www.covid19.qld.gov.au


New South Wales

  • As of July 8, New South Wales borders are open except to Victorian residents.
  • Any New South Wales residents returning from Victoria will be forced to quarantine for 14-days at their own expense.
  • As of Aug 31, Lord Howe Island will reopen to tourists except for Victoria.
  • There are no other closures or restrictions on NSW’s borders.
  • Find out more: www.dpi.nsw.gov.au


Australian Capital Territory



  • Currently, Tasmania has a strict temporary closure of its border for all non-Tasmanian residents.
  • As of 18 August, the Tasmanian government say they will not reconsider opening their borders until at least 1 December 2020 to any other states or territories.
  • Once a border reopening date is confirmed, entrants from NT, SA and WA will need to fill out their information on the Good to Go App in terms of where they have been in the past 14 days. There will be fines of up to $16,800 or up to 6 months jail for those who provide incorrect information.
  • A new online travel registration system – G2G PASS – has been introduced for people needing to travel to Tasmania. Find out more here.
  • Non-Tasmanian and Tasmanian returning residents entering mandatory government-designated accommodation are required to pay a fee from 31 July 2020.
  • Find out more: www.coronavirus.tas.gov.au



  • As of Aug 3, Melbourne is now in Stage 4 hard lockdown restrictions with a COVID-curfew in place from 8 pm to 5 am daily until 11:59 pm on Sunday, 13 September.
  • As of Aug 5, the rest of Victoria will remain in Stage 3 restrictions until mid-September.
  • VIC’s borders are open, though travel to the state is not advised.
  • Find out more: www.vic.gov.au/coronavirus


The Northern Territory

  • As of July 17, The Northern Territory border reopened to all other states and territories except Victoria and Sydney/NSW hotspot residents.
  • Any Sydney/NSW hotspot residents entering will be forced into strict mandatory supervised quarantine at the Howard Springs facility at a personal cost of $2,500 per person. See the latest hotspots here.
  • Residents from Port Stephens and Eurobodalla Shire in NSW and Brisbane, Ipswich and Logan in Queensland are also not allowed to fly into Yurala Airport, Uluru.
  • Anyone arriving in the NT must complete a Border Entry Form. You must do this online up to 72 hours before entering the NT.
  • All international arrivals must complete 14 days of mandatory self-quarantine at a place directed by the NT Government. You are required to cover the expense of your own quarantine fee.
  • Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park is now closed until further notice. Find out more here.
  • Find out more: www.coronavirus.nt.gov.au


South Australia

  • As of Wednesday 29 July, only essential travellers will be able to enter SA from Victoria. South Australians will no longer be able to return to SA from Victoria.
  • A pre-approval process is now in place for NT, QLD, TAS and WA travellers wishing to enter South Australia. Aim to complete the Cross Border Travel Registration at least three days before you leave, regardless of where your travel begins.
  • NSW and ACT residents arriving can enter SA as long as they quarantine on arrival for 14 days.
  • All SA residents travelling from Victoria will be required to undertake a COVID-19 test within 24 hours of their arrival and be forced to wear a face mask.
  • Travellers who arrive at checkpoints will be provided with face masks as well as pre-signed forms for testing, allowing them to go directly to a COVID-19 clinic.
  • As of 18 July, quarantine fees will apply for Australian citizens and residents arriving in South Australia from overseas.
  • Fees as follows: One Adult: $3,000, Additional adults: $1,000 each, Additional children: $500 each, Children under 3: No additional cost.
  • Find out more: www.covid-19.sa.gov.au


Western Australia

  • As of Aug 5, You cannot enter WA unless you are an exempt traveller. WA Government has announced the strict temporary closure of the WA borders for all non-WA residents.
  • The WA Government has announced they will not be reopening their borders until further notice.
  • As of Jun 5, The Kimberley region reopened to the rest of Western Australia, the biosecurity zones in parts of the Shire of East Pilbara however access to remote Aboriginal communities will remain restricted under the State Government’s Emergency Management Act.
  • Find out more: www.wa.gov.au


Norfolk Island

  • As of Aug 6, Norfolk Island will remain closed to Victorians as well as visitors from New South Wales and the ACT.



Enquire About This Offer

More to explore